Buffy Animated Artwork at CafePress
for Slay-a-thon, to benefit Make-a-Wish Foundation.
eeeep! wish I hadn't seen this. now must buy things.
There's a full cast full color that I hadn't seen before, fyi. (and if the Powers That Be think this would be better in the BtAS category, definitely fix it.)
June 18 2004
You need to log in to be able to post comments.
About membership.


NOLA64 | June 18, 20:58 CET
Actually, those are the original images all "Photoshoped" together.
aftermac | June 18, 21:28 CET
bovik | June 18, 22:18 CET
As for the permission question, I don't think that Slay-A-Thon would be so bold to use those designs without permission from the artist especially since they're a charity group. The last thing they'd want is to have a bad name.
Silent Night | June 19, 02:19 CET
You can go to Slayage.com to see some more. I myself own a Joss quote on a mousepad, a jersey, and a onesie for my baby girl. Their stuff is great, and ALL the $$ go to the charity or website they state.
Willowy | June 19, 07:35 CET
"Hi--
I'd like to think the same thing about CafeShops, as I've spent a lot there, but I'm gonna have to voice the same concerns as Bovik.
I designed (using Wight's images in Photoshop, as another commenter noted) the Buffy Animated cast on grey design as wallpaper for my computer, and sent it to a few people, among them Whedonesque and buffy.nu, for fans'
usage. So...imagine my surprise, when clicking on today's Whedonesque link for Slay-a-thon, to see my own (admittedly purloined from Wight, but FOR PERSONAL USE) design being flogged. Simultaneous thrillage and um-what-the-fuck?age.
If in fact proceeds are going to MakeAWish, cool. But I'm doubtful. (Oh, and I'd post this on Whedonesque myself, but I'm not a member, and new membership is apparently on hold--I've been trying for some time.)"
Anna Granfors
And then this one...
"um...apparently buffy.nu took my wallpaper down (and the other group shot wallpaper that someone else did...I think it was on Slay-a-thon's messenger bag) concurrent with the appearance of the Slay-a-thon stuff, so don't look for 'em there.
I'm not accusing 'em of anything, but wondering if buffy.nu might be Slay-a-thon in drag. (on the other hand, since the wallpaper was posted on buffy.nu at 1024x768, it could be ANYONE.) at any rate, be forewarned."
Anna Granfors
So this person seems fairly sure that it might not really be on the up and up. That sucks because I've purchased many things from them and each time the operator assures me the money goes to Slayage or whatever charity it boasts. So now I really don't know what to think.
Willowy | June 20, 17:42 CET
Firefly Flanatic | June 20, 17:59 CET
It seems the internet has become the flea market of the 21st century,like in the past where flea markets would sell tons of bootleg items such as cd's and tapes etc, I have seen items I am pretty sure are bootleg on Ebay and on other internet sites, unless reported many won't be caught, because of the thousands of sites nobody has the manpower to go site by site checking for bootleg items, so usually the get away with it, I would suggest writing a email to the artist if he has a site to get one from or 20th Century Fox and ask them if it's legit before purchasing anything from them.
Nuke | June 21, 04:14 CET
So anyone can create an account, use any name they please, and just about any image they please as well. (I even have one, just for fun.) Doesn't necessarily mean it's on the up-and-up. I haven't heard of a single problem with Cafepress itself. They are the ones that handle the money, clothing/accessory printing, and shipping. But the validity of the independent shop, the legality of their images, and the intentions of the profits.... there's no telling for certain.
They do have stipulations on copyrighted material, but I'm never fully certain what can slip under the radar, and if this particular shop's designs will get any kind of notice without someone sending Cafepress a complaint. As far as they're concerned, this could be independent artwork created by the shop owner.
If someone decides to buy something from this shop, don't be concerned about scams or not receiving your shipment. Like I said, Cafepress is reliable. Any concerns should be placed on any copyrighted material and profit intentions. Personally, I don't like the idea of someone benefiting from another person's work... and I can't tell for certain whether that's being done here, or if the intentions are good. Personally, I would be reluctant because I'm guessing Eric Wight hasn't okayed this.
Greyflowers | June 21, 10:35 CET
Simon | June 21, 10:35 CET